Skip to main content

You are here

Mini Med School

The Avon Public Library will be streaming weekly Mini School Lectures starting Wednesday September 13th at 6:30 pm. This program will run each Wednesday through November 8th. Mini Med School is a community service offered by the CU School of Medicine. Lectures are held on the Anschutz Medical Campus in Aurora and remote sites view it internet feed. The first hour is a presentation on a medical/health topic followed by a ½ hour Q&A. Registration for Mini Med School is free, there is no cost to attend and the program is open to anyone. Participants who attend 5 of the 8 sessions receive a “Diploma” at the end. The purpose of Mini Med is twofold. First, to provide the scientific background necessary to improve understanding of the human body and help participants take charge of their own health. Second, to encourage youth and others to consider careers in healthcare. This program is a great opportunity for high school students interested in careers in healthcare, medical professionals and interested citizens to learn more about healthcare as a profession and as an industry. 

September 13: Opioid Epidemic, Dennis Boyle, MD

September 20: The Secrets to Successful Aging, Jeff Wallace, MD

September 27: Fall Break

October 4: Medical Ethics, Matthew Wynia, MD

October 11: Topics in Medicine, Nichole Zehnder, MD

October 18: What Science Tells Us About How to Lose Weight and Keep It Off Forever, James Hill, MD

October 25: Neurology, Matt West, MD

November 1: Emergency Medicine, Katherine Bakes, MD

November 8: How Doctors Diagnose, Kristin Furfari, MD & Patrick Kneeland, MD

When

Repeats every week every Wednesday until Wed Nov 08 2017 except Wed Sep 27 2017.
Wed, 09/13/2017 - 6:30pm, Wed, 09/20/2017 - 6:30pm, Wed, 10/04/2017 - 6:30pm, Wed, 10/11/2017 - 6:30pm, Wed, 10/18/2017 - 6:30pm, Wed, 10/25/2017 - 6:30pm, Wed, 11/01/2017 - 6:30pm, Wed, 11/08/2017 - 6:30pm

Event location

Board Room

Translate Page