Skip to main content

You are here

Kids

Books to Read, Songs to Hear, Things to Do

A Universe of Stories

Summer Reading registration begins on June 1!

It's been fifty years since Apollo 11's historic lunar landing so this year's summer learning program is celebrating with weekly programs about space and space travel! Come explore distant planets, moons and stars...train like an astronaut...test your engineering skills by building rockets...and much more! Children from birth - five years of age and K - 6th grade can participate in Summer Reading. Sign up and earn prizes! Participants can also earn virtual badges and complete fun activities online through Beanstack.  

Eagle Valley Libraries hosts family friendly movie matinees and free weekly summer learning programs for all rising 1st - 6th graders starting June 18 with a Star Wars Kickoff Party!


Weekly summer learning programs for all rising 1st - 6th graders:


Gypsum Public Library: Tuesdays @ 1:00 pm from June 18 - August 6   
Printable schedule here (en español aquí).
  • Tues., June 18 @ 1:00 pm - Star Wars Kickoff Party!
  • Tues., June 25 @ 1:00 pm - Train Like An Astronaut
  • Tues., July 2 @ 1:00 pm - Blast Off To Mars
  • Tues., July 9 @ 1:00 pm - Way Out in Space
  • Tues., July 16 @ 1:00 pm - Strange New Planets
  • Tues., July 23 @ 1:00 pm - Journey To Mars
  • Tues., July 30 ! 1:00 pm - Stardust & Supernoveas
  • Tues., August 6 @ 1:00 pm - Magic From Mars
  • Thurs., August 8 @ 1:00 pm - Ice Cream Party!

Avon Public Library: Wednesdays @ 1:00 pm from June 19 - August 7   
Printable schedule here.
  • Wed., June 19 @ 1:00 pm - Star Wars Kickoff Party!
  • Wed., June 26 @ 1:00 pm - Astronauts in Training
  • Wed., July 3 - (There will be no program on Wednesday, July 3rd due to the Town of Avon’s Salute to the USA.)
  • Wed., July 10 @ 1:00 pm - Aliens: Escape from Earth
  • Wed., July 17 @ 1:00 pm - Up in the Sky: Moon & Stars
  • Wed., July 24 @ 1:00 pm - Solar System Scavenger Hunt
  • Wed., July 31 @ 1:00 pm - Defy Gravity with Rockets!
  • Wed., August 7 @ 1:00 pm - Magic From Mars

Eagle Public Library: Wednesdays @ 2:00 pm from June 19 - August 7   
(activities may vary from schedule due to the Eagle Renovation and Expansion project)
  • Wed., June 19 @ 2:00 pm - Star Wars Kickoff Party!
  • Wed., June 26 @ 2:00 pm - Where in Space
  • Wed., July 3 @ 2:00 pm - Touchdown!
  • Wed., July 10 @ 2:00 pm - Strange New Planet
  • Wed., July 17 @ 2:00 pm - To the Moon
  • Wed., July 24 @ 2:00 pm - Balloon Rockets
  • Wed., July 31 @ 2:00 pm - Ice Cream Party!
  • Tue., August 6 @ 3:00 pm - Magic From Mars

 

Translate Page